Saturday, March 2, 2013

For the fans of John Dickson Carr



I have read only three books of John Dickson Carr till date. The high-on-expectations-low-on-delivery The Three Coffins, and He Who Whispers, and the rollickingly-funny-madcap-of-a-mystery The Eight of Swords


























However, there are many books of his that I want to read esp. the enigmatically titled The Reader is Warned which he wrote under the pseudonym of Carter Dickson.















On the occasion of his death anniversary which fall on February 27th, his grand-daughter, Shelly Dickson Carr, herself a writer, has written a small piece on her grandfather which can be accessed over here.

15 comments:

  1. His death anniversary is a reminder that John Dickson Carr lives through his books and that I should read at least some of them. Great covers, Neer.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Prashant, I too find the covers of vintage mysteries to be highly imaginative. It's a pleasure flicking thru them. Haven't read much of Carr either but plan to pick up a book of his soon.

      Delete
  2. Your blog is remarkable. As a beginner in the blogging world, yours is inspiring and also a bit daunting. Thank you for your dedication to books and thank you so much for adding my blog post so your followers would see it. I promise you will not be disappointed with "Reader be Warned." People ask me all the time which of Papa John's books I like the best, but I haven't a favorite. I will always love "He Wouldn't Kill Patience" because it's the first kind of grown up mystery I ever read, and I was in the fifth grade I think. It got me started really in reading and writing and really appreciating well-crafted mysteries. How do you pick one favorite from more than 100? Again thank you for your generosity in getting connecting.
    All the best,
    Shelly

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Shelly for these very kind words. However, there are blogs far more interesting than mine.

      I haven't read much of your grandfather's work (More than 100!) but would love to read more of him. Perhaps, on the next trip to the library, I'd pick-up one of his books.

      I am also looking forward to more posts on your grandfather.

      Delete
    2. Dear Shelly,

      I am trying to get in contact with the heirs of your father's literary estate to discuss bringing some more of his fantastic books into circulation. It has been relatively difficult so far and I apologise for such an informal first contact. Nevertheless, If you would be interested in helping me out with this then I'd very much appreciate your time. Just drop me an email if you get a chance and we may be able to take this project further,

      Thanks a lot,

      John, London.

      Delete
    3. John: It is grand that you are bringing out J.D. Carr's books. I wish you all success. Have you tried contacting Shelly at her blog?

      Delete
  3. oops... "thank you for you generosity in connecting." I should have my copy editor with me at all times. :)
    -Shelly

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What with the many errors that I make, I wish I had one too.:)

      Delete
  4. Neer, What a nice post. Thanks for the link to the tribute for Carr.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are welcome, Tracy. I liked the post and hope you did too.

      Delete
  5. Thanks for the info Neer - sorry that THE HOLLOW MAN didn;t do it for you - I usually think THE JUDAS WINDOW, HE WOULDN;T KILL PATIENCE and SHE DIED A LADY, under the 'Carter Dickson' byline, and TILL DEATH DO US PART and such historicals as THE BURNING COURT and THE DEVIL IN VELVET as by Carr, usually convert most readers into rabid fans of the great man's work!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the recommendations Sergio. I plan to pick up a Carr on my next trip to the library. Will see whether I am lucky enough to get any of these.

      The Hollow Man is perhaps his most recommended book but somehow the modus-operandi seemed too convoluted to me.

      Delete
  6. A fiddling something for everyone, every Jeep Fan should have a two-piece
    Top! o'er the past tense few terrific gifts for 1 geezerhood olds you can get your hands on. even things care personalized magazine publisher things, they would equally revalue any owl gifts that you can put Unitedly. But this is a give birth with a dispute: you can personalize it with assortment of owl gifts starting from heyday to intellectual nourishment.

    Also visit my homepage ... owl kitchen decor
    Also see my website - owl decor

    ReplyDelete
  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete